minnescoota.com Forum Index
<  General Scootering  ~  How Harrowing is Driving Uptown/Downtown Minneapolis?
Sprocketjones
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:24 pm  Reply with quote
Permit

Hello all...

I'm fairly new to the scoot scene - and am a brand new owner of a Pink Stella. I know that the majority of my rides will be side streets and not so direct through traffic routes - but just how harrowing is riding across downtown Minneapolis? Say from Uptown - Hennepin Ave to Downtown to the new Guthrie?

Any suggestions on alternate routes?

My apologies if this should have gone in Rides and Routes - but that seems to be planned rides and planned routes.

Thanks for any tips in advance!!!
jsyx
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:50 pm  Reply with quote
Licensed

i live a block from calhoun square and commute thru downtown all of the time, at night as well as during the rushes. To avoid traffic i usually take Franklin Ave to 11th Ave. up to the metrodome/west bank areas. Just taking hennepin can be faster or slower dependant upon the stoplights...
Just wear a helmet and watch out for cabbies!!
good luck!

p.s.-sidestreets in the uptown area are THE MOST DANGEROUS place to be because of all of the suburban kids barreling thru stopsigns at 45mph while smoking pot...I would stick to the major arteries to be the safest. Bryant is pretty good but be CAREFUL when you get into the nighboorhood-y parts. Always be ready to dodge something!

Sprocketjones
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 12:57 pm  Reply with quote
Permit

I had wondered about side streets in Uptown too - I noticed that with bicycling it seems that some of those intersections are the worst.

Thanks for the Advice about Franklin to 11th....
Spikehead
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 3:46 pm  Reply with quote
Licensed

Sprocketjones wrote:
Thanks for any tips in advance!!!

Stay off the roads and you'll be fine.