minnescoota.com Forum Index
<  General Scootering  ~  Random question
mopedgirl
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:34 pm  Reply with quote
Permit

Anybody wanna talk dirty sparkplugs?

I'm pretty new to my vespa, and and a very basic understanding of how it works, but wish I knew more. I come up with lots of dumb questions to think about but don't usually get around to figuring them out.

So, I've ended up changing my sparkplug every 300 miles since I got my bike. It just seems to get harder to kickstart, and then I curse a lot, and its embarrassing (I work around little kids--swearing isn't allowed.) What is the recommended milage per plug?

I do have a manual but its wandered off, and I can't seem to find it.

If anyone doesn't mind sharing their knowledge i'd be grateful, otherwise sorry for the babble.

Amy Noel

nate
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:45 pm  Reply with quote
Licensed

There's different camps on the sparkplug issue.

One thought is that changing sparkplugs very frequently (300 miles or less, in some cases) is a good way to keep things 'in top form'.

The other (correct) thought is that if your plug is fouled after a mere 300 miles, there's something not right in your bike. I usually don't change my plug during the course of a season. (of course, being a vintage 'rider', I only put on 2 miles a year, ha ha) If the plug is that dirty, then the Air/fuel mixture isn't right, you're adding too much oil in the premix, jetted incorrectly, or something similar.

Tuning the carb properly is kind of an art, and I don't profess to be any good at it. When you change your plugs, If the inner core is a nice toasted marshmallow brown and the electrode looks relatively clean, you're in good shape.

If it's wet and filthy black, adjustments need to be made.