minnescoota.com Forum Index
<  General Scootering  ~  lubing zerk fittings
morgan
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:30 pm  Reply with quote
Licensed

my first post on the new board but not my first dumb question:

now that my front end of my Rally is all rebuilt and like new, i want to lubricate the "zerk fittings" as per the blue book and the "bob's" book and i've never done it before. i don't have either book in front of me at work here, but i think it's something they suggest every 3-6 months or something? can't recall now.

anyway, i've got the grease gun and the little flexible hose, but i was wondering how much i wanna squirt in there? how do i know when i've got enough in? is standard chassis/axel grease ok?

what do you all think is a resonable lubrication schedule for these little zerk fittings? i average about 2K miles a season...
Derrick
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:45 pm  Reply with quote
Licensed

There should only be two zerks. One on the speedo drive and one on the swing arm pivot. Both are not very effective at properly lubing there components. The best way to maintain those parts is to disassemble them, clean them, lube them and reassemble them. Which you have already done. Then don't worry about them for at least 5-6 years unless you drive like a mad man.

Most people put way too much grease in those zerks and just make a mess or wreck things.

You can grease the swing arm pivot until you just see a little bit of grease coming out from under the "o" ring seals. Then stop.

If you put too much grease in the speedo drive zerk you can blow out your front hub seals and destroy your brake shoes. One shot is plenty. If you do one shot every year, you will blow out the seals in a couple of years. The grease does NOT disapear. It does turn to crud and needs to be replaced.

Most stuff requires just a little grease. Most manufactures don't use zerks any more. Probably because people either never use them or use them too much.
morgan